PROGRAMS -- APS Meeting Program


Special Session at the University of Pennsylvania
The Future of Particle Physics

Monday, April 7, 2003, 2:30-5:30 p.m., Reception following

University of Pennsylvania Museum of Archaeology and Anthropology

Bus transportation between conference hotel and U. Penn for DPF members only -- join the DPF!

  • H. Neal (Michigan): Bouchet Prize Talk: Physics and the Large Hadron Collider
  • E. Witten (IAS): tba
  • P. Meyers (Princeton): Neutrino Oscillations: The next 20 months, the next 20 years
  • N. Roe (LBNL): Looking for a New Angle on CP Violation
  • M. Turner (Chicago): Primakoff Lecture: Connecting Quarks with the Cosmos

    Nobel Prize Session

    Saturday, April 5, 2003

  • Dr. R. Giacconi (Johns Hopkins/AUI)
  • Prof. M. Koshiba (Tokyo)

    Plenary Talks

  • O. Bohigas (Orsay): Quantum Chaos: From Atomic Nuclei to the Reimann Zeta Function
  • T. Bowles (LANL): Outlook for Underground Science
  • P. Grannis (Stony Brook): Pursing the Secrets of Matter, Space and Time at the Energy Frontier
  • S. Freedman (UC, Berkeley): Solar Neutrinos
  • M. Harwit (Cornell): The Growth of Understanding in Astrophysics
  • D. Kirkby (UC, Irvine): Through the Looking Glass: What's the Matter with Anti-Matter
  • J. Lykken (Fermilab): The Mysteries of Extra Dimensions
  • P. Slane (Harvard- Smithsonian Institute): Chandra Observations of Supernova Remnants and Young Neutron Stars
  • R. Wijers (Amsterdam): The Current Status of Gamma Ray Bursts

    Public Lecture

    Sunday, April 6, 8:00pm-9:30pm
    Stearns Auditorim, Franklin Institute

    Ben Franklin's Scientific Amusements
    Dudley Herschbach, Harvard University

    Monday, April 7, 2003

    The Young Particle Physicists (YPP) would like to invite attendees of the April Meeting 2003 to a breakfast meeting on April 7, 2003 at 7:30 am sponsored by the DPF. The general mission of the YPP is to provide young particle physicists with a forum to address the issues important to young physicists. Dr. Joseph Formaggio, Chair of the YPP Executive Committee, will give an overview of our global organization and activities. Whether you are already part of a local organization or are interested in starting one, come find out how we can help you have a voice in the future of particle physics. Seating is limited to 50 participants, so please register in advance by email to George Fleming.

    Preliminary Program of DPF Invited Sessions

    Special Session: The Future of Particle Physics Sally Dawson ([email protected])  
    Neutrinos Joe Formaggio ([email protected]) Boris Kayser ([email protected])
    Strings Vijay Balasubramanian ([email protected]) Albion Lawrence ([email protected])
    Cosmology/Astrophysics (with DAP) Rene Ong (DPF)([email protected]) tba
    Electroweak Physics Laura Reina ([email protected]) John Womersley ([email protected])
    Heavy Flavors/CP Violation Hassan Jawahery ([email protected]) Christoph Paus ([email protected])
    Beyond the SM Kieth Dienes ([email protected]) Jonathan Feng ([email protected])
    Linear Collider Physics (with DPB) Gerry Dugan, DPB ([email protected]) Mark Oreglia ([email protected])
    QCD (with DNP) George Sterman ([email protected]) Jim Thomas, DNP ([email protected])
    Strings/Gravity (with DGR) R. Sorkin, DGR ([email protected]) G. Horowitz ([email protected])
    Hadronic Physics (with GHP) G. Valencia ([email protected]) Eric Swanson ([email protected])
    Prizes (with DPB) R. Ruth, DPB([email protected]) S. Dawson ([email protected])


  •   Last modified:
      February 25, 2003